Meet Our Physicists

Rosemary Wyse

Johns Hopkins University

Rosemary (Rosie) Wyse is an astrophysicist with particular interests in galaxy formation and evolution. She obtained her undergraduate degree from Queen Mary, University of London, then moved to the University of Cambridge for Part III Applied Maths, followed by her Ph.D. at the Institute of Astronomy, Cambridge. After independent postdoctoral fellowships held at Princeton University, Space Telescope Science Institute and the University of California, Berkeley, she joined the faculty at Johns Hopkins University, where she is now Alumni Centennial Professor in the Physics and Astronomy department.

Wyse is a Legacy Fellow of the American Astronomical Society, a Fellow of the American Physical Society and a Fellow of the American Association of the Advancement of Science. She has held many Visiting Professorships, including the Blaauw Professor at the University of Groningen, Leverhulme Trust Visiting Professor at the University of Edinburgh and Keeley Fellow at Wadham College, Oxford. Her honors include the Dirk Brouwer Career Award from the Division of Dynamical Astronomy of the American Astronomical Society, an Honorary Doctorate from her alma mater (Queen Mary, University of London) and a Sloan Foundation Fellowship. Lastly, she was President of the Aspen Center for Physics during the period 2010-2013.

Positions Held

General Member, 2003 – 2018
Trustee, 2006 – 2010
President, 2010 – 2013
Honorary Trustee, 2018 – current


Dirk Brouwer Career Award, 2016

Related Content

Rosemary Wyse, ACP President 2010-2013, at the 60th Anniversary Celebration.

Presidential Essay from Rosemary Wyse

By Rosemary Wyse

The highlight of my tenure as President was undoubtedly the 50th anniversary of the ACP in 2012, which we celebrated with a summer filled with joyful events. The physicist members plus the indefatigable staff - Jane Kelly, Paula Johnson and Patty Fox