Major Awards

The Aspen Center for Physics has had many participants who have won major awards in physics, mathematics, and related areas. Please see below for lists of past participants who have won awards.

Nobel Prize

Abel Prize

Fields Medal

Dirac Medal

Breakthrough Prize

Bethe Circle

Hans Bethe, who was a long-time Aspen Center for Physics participant, donated part of the prize money from his 1967 Nobel Prize in Physics to the Center for a building, now named Bethe Hall. Following in Bethe’s footsteps, a number of participants whose outstanding work has been recognized by professional awards and prizes have chosen to donate part or all of the prize money to support the Center. If you have received a professional award or prize and would like to become a member of the Bethe Circle, please contact us.