July 7 Birthday Celebration and Reception


Aspen Center for Physics, 700 West Gillespie, Aspen

Click here to see the birthday celebration on video

The Aspen Center for Physics wishes to thank those who have recognized us on the occasion of our celebrating 50 years of physics.

The American Physical Society presented the Aspen Center for a Physics with a plaque, designating the Center as an historical physics site.

Colorado Senators Mark Udall and Michael Bennett's letter of congratulations was appreciated. Senator Udall also addressed the Senate and Speaker. His remarks are recorded in the June 28, 2012 Congressional Record.

Senator Gail Schwartz, who represents Aspen in the Colorado Legislature, presented this commendation from the Colorado Senate during her tribute to the Aspen Center for Physics at the July 7th celebration.

The Pitkin County Board of Commissioners issued a proclamation "Recognizing the Aspen Center for Physics as it Celebrates its 50th Year in Aspen."

Aspen Mayor Mick Ireland offered congratulations and a certificate to the Aspen Center for Physics during his presentation at the July 7th birthday celebration.


  • 3:00-4:30 pm Program
    • Welcome - ACP Chair Michael Turner
    • Speakers
      • Founders - Michael Cohen, Robert Craig, George Stranahan
      • Gail Schwartz - Colorado State Senate
      • Subra Suresh - National Science Foundation
      • John Grunsfeld - National Aeronautical Space Administration
      • Jack Hatfield - Pitkin County Commissioner
      • Mick Ireland - Mayor of Aspen
      • Walter Isaacson - The Aspen Institute
      • Alan Fletcher - Aspen Music Festival and School
      • Robert Byer - American Physical Society
    • Closing Remarks - ACP President Rosemary Wyse
  • 4:30-5:30 pm Reception
  • Cocktail reception on the grounds of the Aspen Center for Physics – Everyone Welcome!